Last October, Google decided to shut down its own social media network Google+. This shut down is as a result of the platform failing to attract users and the data breach of over 500,000 existing Google+ profiles. The subsequent breach of approximately 52.5 million users aided in the shut down decision. Google decided to remove Google+ four months earlier than its original timeline and additional details have been revealed at this time.
Google has officially planned to end all of Google+ services for consumers in April 2019.
Here is the detailed timeline of the shutdown which will begin in February 2019.
- By February 4th, Google will no longer allow new Google+ profiles, pages, communities, or events to be created on the platform.
- Comments will be taken down on April 2nd.
- Google+ sign-in will be immediately replaced by a Google sign-in button for the remaining profiles.
- Any Google+ Community owner or moderator will have access to download all data they would like to save starting March 2019.
- All the Google+ accounts and pages will be permanently deleted along with its content starting April 2nd. Please note *It will take some time to delete the enormous amount of data. Untul deletion, users can save their photos or videos from Google+.
This shut down will not impact Google+ for enterprise consumers. The platform will remain active.